Teapot Cozy

2013_Blog_TeapotCoverCold tea is an ongoing problem in our house. First, we consume a lot of it. Second, we don’t consume it all at the same time. One person might brew some early in the morning, another person — a late sleeper — might pour some out an hour or more later. The solution is a teapot cozy, and I’ve included a free tea cozy pattern with this post.

The outer layer is wool from Pendleton that I later made into a dress. I love the blue and gray plaid with thin red stripe. The dress isn’t a keeper, but of course I had left over material, and it’s perfect for a tea cozy (I also made a classy holiday stocking from the remnants ). Across the top and sides I used blue piping. The “sandwich” layer is Warm n Natural batting, leftover from the Roman blind lining in my sewing room. And the tea pot is fully lined with blue denim from long ago. I know it’s long ago because mid-college on, I owned a rabbit. That rabbit moved with me during my wandering years, and I have several pieces of fabric that she chewed into. Hence the several spots in my tea cozy lining with sewed-on flowers or buttons. I had fun cutting out and then singeing the edges of the wool fabric to seal them and make them ravel less. I might have used more flowers to make the effect more even, but I’m not much of a crafter and I figured it’s just a lining, after all. But it’s nice enough that it could be used as the top.

Since then our tea has been much warmer. Your teapot is the basis for the size of your cozy. Mine measured 25″ from spout to handle. You can use the free pattern to draft your own version. (Print several, then tape together to see if it wraps around.) Here are the instructions: Cut all pieces on the fold of fabric, as the pattern indicates. Cut 2 each on the fold of these items: 1. decorator fabric, 2. lining fabric, and 3. batting or insulating material. Baste piping (optional) to the right side of one layer of the decorator fabric at the stitching line (I used 1/2″ inch/1.27 centimeter), raw edge of piping pointing in the same direction as the raw edge of fabric. Do not install piping along the long bottom edge. Piping or not, leave the long bottom edge open. If you want to further embellish your decorator fabric, you should do so now. Embellishments could include embroidery or attaching fabric flowers or buttons (as I did to disguise holes).

Similarly, stitch the curved edges of the two right sides of decorator fabric using (again, I used 1/2 inch/1.27 centimeter seam allowances). Trim bulk from the curved seam allowance. Press up the long open bottom 1/2 ” (this will be folded up later).

copyright 2013 SoundStitches sewing blog teapot cozy lining

Pin one layer of batting to the curved edge of the lining piece, matching raw edges. Do the same with the remaining layer of lining and batting. Trim the batting layer close to the stitching line. Then stitch the curved edge of right sides of lining/batting. Remove some of the bulk by trimming. Press up the bottom 1/2″ (to fold up later). Press open the seam allowances and turn inside out. Push the lining up into the decorator fabric wrong sides together. You might have to do a lot of pushing so that the lining/batting layer fills all of the nooks and crannies of the decorator layer. Cute, eh? You’re on your way to keeping that tea hot!

The remaining step is to pin and sew the bottom all the way around. (In mine, I trimmed some of the decorator fabric and this allowed me to press then stitch a double fold of denim lining all the way around — it’s another easy detail but you can simply press up once and match the edge of the decorator fabric.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

