Vintage Wool Dress

I’m with my family in Santa Fe, where a weekly “Flea.” I spied this yellow plaid wool dress at a jeweler’s booth at the flea market. Though the scale is a little big for a petite like me, I would loved to have worn this in its day, maybe for early spring. I did not try it on — I could tell that waist was too small for me! The bodice and sleeves are cut on the bias. The skirt is cut on the straight-of-grain and has full pleats. At the same booth I also spied an unlined turquoise wool striped jacket. Julienne Barth (or so I assume, since she was the jeweler who handed me her card) said that it was unusual because of the “union tag” sewed in. I thought it was unusual that it was not lined.

When you’re next in Santa Fe, stop by the Flea and Julienne’s Turquoise booth.

Leave a Reply

