Stockings R Us… and Free Pattern

SoundStitches Holiday Stocking
Each bound toe/foot will be clipped and attached to stocking right side

I feel as stressed as a holiday retailer! My family decided that everyone coming to our house in December deserves a holiday stocking. Of course, they’re not showing up for work much in the shop!

I’ve owned my Simplicity pattern 7044 for years. Tree skirts, gift bags and stockings are included. The pattern is out of print, but you can download an easy free stocking pattern and instructions. For this round of stockings, I am very proud that I haven’t bought anything new — the stockings take into account the giftee’s tastes, but use scraps from my garments or from the craft material stash. My father, an outdoorsman, is getting tweedy wool and woodsy brown. My husband’s getting an Asian print that I bought too little of to make pyjamas. My daughter is completing her own from the craft fabrics you see here. My mom’s will be from a shiny dress fabric. Me? If I get around to it, my stocking will be crafted from the scraps from a blue plaid Pendleton wool jumper.

Picture: The pattern calls for adding binding to the toe and heel sections. How to do it fast? The photo shows my assembly-line approach to stitching binding. I will clip each one off and stitch to stocking right side.

So that’s what I’ve been doing… instead of writing to you all! What holiday gifts are you working on?

Leave a Reply

