A Riot of Color in Felt

A riot of hand-dyed wool feltSome artists are all about the details. I met such a person at the Seattle EtsyRain Pre-Holiday Craft Show last weekend. Nikki Wheeler had a rainbow array of hand-dyed squares of felt on display at her booth. These can be used for crafts or apparel embellishment. I wanted to find out a little more about how these could be used, and here’s what Nikki has to say:

As for projects, I have used the felt for a the base of a lot of my art quilts.  Some of them include my “Day Dreaming” quilt and the inchies in the same post, http://nikkiwheeler.blogspot.com/2009/04/day-dreaming-at-twelve-by-twelve-and.html.  I’ve also used the felt for a simple apron, cell phone case and NDS cases for my kids, but I don’t have pictures posted.  I know it works great for appliques and my kids dyed their friends scarves using long pieces.

If you’d like to learn more, Nikki’s sites are http://www.nikkiwheeler.blogspot.com and http://www.nikkiwheeler.etsy.com. I bought a small gift box stuffed with teas. It will make a cute gift, since it came with an equally cute gift tag. I notice her Etsy shop has a number of  gifts worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

