Copying Garnet Hill

Garnet Hill Frontier Skirt
Garnet Hill Frontier Skirt

At the risk of getting into big trouble with a major catalog, I’m sharing my plans to “copy”  a skirt in the Garnet Hill catalog that I’ve been drooling over. (Big trouble would only come from copying their catalog pictures, hence the credit below.)
I’ve been coveting the dark gray corduroy “Frontier” skirt. It costs $58.00 plus $9.00 shipping. So I made my own pattern, and at the end I chickened out on the pleats and I’m making an A-line skirt instead. (The catalog even says the skirt is “fuller than pictured.” For a short woman like me, that’s probably not flattering.)
Here’s the math of my effort: I found a medium gray velvet fabric at Nancy’s Sewing Basket on Queen Anne. It’s 30.00 a yard. I only needed a yard, so I have 30.00 plus tax invested so far. I  used a 50% coupon for JoAnn Fabrics to buy my zipper. With tax that totaled $1.09. I already had gray thread. I’m deciding to face the yoke with cotton fabric left over from another project. More pictures to come!
Credits: Lovely catalog pictures from Garnet Hill Fall 2010 catalog. Great stuff — check out the skirt here.

2 thoughts on “Copying Garnet Hill

Leave a Reply

